THOUGHTS ON…”GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY”

 Greetings all!!!

So let’s just get this clear and out of the way: never EVER doubt Marvel Studios. Like I said in my comic-con round up, time and time again Marvel have proved me wrong, and with Guardians of the Galaxy nothing has changed.

Yes this is a review for Guardians of the Galaxy.

I know I know. It’s been out for a while. And I actually saw it the first day it came out, but busy schedule etc…you get the picture…

hr_Guardians_of_the_Galaxy_46

(***SPOILERS AHEAD, SO IF YOU HAVEN’T SEEN THE MOVIE YET, YOU HAVE BEEN FOREWARNED. DO NOT READ ON UNLESS YOU HAVE NO INTEREST IN THE MOVIE OR YOU DON’T CARE IF THE PLOT OF A FILM/SERIES IS RUINED FOR YOU***)

So, Guardians of the Galaxy tells the story of how a group of intergalactic misfits that band together to save the universe from certain annihilation. The premise is that simple and there’s nothing wrong with that.

One of the first positives you can take from Guardians is that it knows what kind of film it is, and it doesn’t have to take itself so seriously and that’s what makes it work. From the moment at the beginning when Peter Quill is dancing in the temple you know you’re in for a fun ride.

Chris Pratt as Peter Quill aka Star-Lord escaped Korath in Guardians of the Galaxy

And the chemistry between the characters is a great thing, but even on their own these characters are terrific. It’s still really difficult for me to pick out my favourite character, because they all had their moments, whether funny or emotional.

Seriously if someone had a gun to my head and asked me to pick my favourite, in my head I’ll be thinking; “He’s cool, I like him…but he did that cool thing, I like him also…but then she’s also pretty cool because she also did that really cool thing…”

Even though Gamorra is the typical whiny female character within the film (Seriously, it’s not fair comic book movies, apart from Black Widow, all your female characters tend to be very annoying and whiny all the time, you need to fix that shit), she is the moral compass of the team, so that’s why even she is a welcome addition.

guardians-of-the-galaxy-movie-image

However, Karen Gillan as Nebula is soooo awesome. The cold and calculating nature of the character was so well portrayed that I found myself thinking halfway through the film that I’d rather see Gillan as Gamorra rather than Zoe Saldana. But then again, if Gillan wasn’t Nebula, would she be as badass as she was in the movie?

guardians-galaxy-nebula-karen-gillan

Tough call…

Put I think a lot of credit is due to the other actors, especially Chris Pratt as Peter Quill. He plays the role with such confidence that even when he has that awkwardly goofy moment where he dances in front of Ronan you feel that it’s sort of a second nature to the character. Pratt was a perfect casting.

Also, I know a few close friends of mine had their doubts as Bradley Cooper as Rocket. Boy were they wrong. I don’t think I need to go on further about that portrayal, because it sure as hell speaks for itself…

maxresdefault

With the good comes the bad…

My two biggest gripes with Guardians came at first with the climactic showdown at the end. I felt it kind of dragged out with Ronan for a big too long.

Even when that was ending, the whole hand holding thing didn’t work for me. It just seemed out of character for the these characters, but I think depending on how you look at it, it’s just a matter of preference.

My next problem came in the film’s villain.

Now, I love Lee Pace. I think he’s a brilliant actor. I would argue to the bitter end as to how he is the standout performer in Halt & Catch Fire.

guardians-of-the-galaxy_ronan-the-accuserHowever, in GOTG, I can feel that he wasn’t allowed enough time to really get relaxed and into the role, and it was as if he was directed to be over the top. But the problem was that he was too over the top for me, and what sucked most for him was most of the character development time had to go to the main cast.

Overall though, Guardians was the most fun I’ve had in a comic book film for a while. A great set of characters and some really hilarious moment. All I’ll say is prosthetic leg. If you’ve seen the film you’ll know what I’m talking about…

Ooooh and massive spoiler alert. How badass does Thanos look? Incredibly. I can’t wait for Avengers 3. Yeah, I’m not even focusing on Age of Ultron anymore, that’s how awesome he looked.

thanos-hd4/5

To round off this week’s post, I wanna say a massive thank you to everyone reading my posts out there. I now have reached 226 views. Massive, massive thanks. It’s keeping me going and it’s incredibly encouraging so thanks.

It looks like the entry I wrote about my verdict on the Man Of Steel vs Superman Returns debate really made some waves. I got like 96 views in 5 days. All for that article.

I think that’s impressive right?

So, did you see Guardians Of The Galaxy? What did you think about it?

With all the comic book movies already released this year, which was your favourite and how would you rank them? For me it goes;

1. X-Men: Days of Future Past

2. Guardians of the Galaxy

3. Captain America: The Winter Soldier

4. The Amazing Spider-Man 2

Also, what was your favourite comic book movie action sequence movie? You can make a list as much as 10, but I decided to pick one from each of the four Marvel movies. Again for me it goes: the Quicksilver White House showdown in DOFP, followed by Electro and Spider-Man’s first showdown in Times Square, Falcon versus the SHIELD jet fighters in Cap2 and finally the prison escape scene in GOTG.

Seeing as how my Singer vs Snyder Superman movie debate proved quite popular, would you like to see another stand off debate about superhero movies?

I don’t even know why I’m asking, I’ll probably go and do it anyway. I’m really interested in the whole, who played Spider-Man better debate, so look out for that one soon.

Thanks once again and I’ll see you on the next post!!!

Leave a Reply

